The triennial Monoculus Award is awarded to scientists for their exceptionally devoted service and contributions to the activities of the World Association of Copepodologists. The award was first presented on the occasion of the 10th ICOC in Pattaya, Thailand in 2008.

Recipients of the Monoculus Award include:

2022    Ruth Böttger-Schnack, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research, Germany
2017     Rony Huys, Natural History Museum, United Kingdom
2014     T. Chad Walter, Smithsonian Institution, U.S.A.
2011      Ju-shey Ho, California State University, Long Beach, U.S.A.
2011      Janet W. Reid, Virginia Museum of Natural History, U.S.A.
2008    Horst Kurt Schminke, University of Oldenburg
2008    Geoffrey Boxshall, Natural History Museum, United Kingdom

Zbigniew Kabata Student AWARD

The triennial Kabata Award, named after the Founder President of WAC, is awarded during the International Conference on Copepoda for the best oral presentation given by a student participant. The award was first presented on the occasion of the 13th ICOC in Los Angeles, U.S.A. in 2017.

Recipients of the Kabata Award include:

2022     Mattia Di Cicco, University of L’Aquila, Italy
2017     Matthew C. Sasaki, University of Connecticut, U.S.A.

Students Awards

Oral and Poster Presentations

Awards are presented for outstanding student oral and poster presentations at the triennial International Conference on Copepoda.

2022 Oral Presentations

Érica Becker, Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil
Irina Enshina, Saint Petersburg State University, Russia
Elena Kochanova, Finnish Museum of Natural History, University of Helsinki, Finland
Aleksandr Novikov, Kazan Federal University, Russia
Nanami Yumura, University of Tokyo, Japan

2022 Poster Presentations

Cennet Arslan, Mersin University, Turkey
Marco Cifoni, Stazione Zoologica Anton Dohrn, Italy
Alexandra Hahn, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research, Germany
Sophia Lecuona, University of California, Santa Barbara, U.S.A.
Jade Hiraki Morris, University of California, Santa Barbara, U.S.A.

2017 Oral Presentations

James P. Bernot, George Washington University, U.S.A.
Carlos F. Ruiz, Auburn University, U.S.A.
Emma Taccardi, University of Maine, U.S.A.
Marvin Choquet, Nord University, Norway
Érika Correia, Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil

2017 Poster Presentations

Jade Morris, John A. Rowland High School, U.S.A.
James A. deMayo, University of Connecticut, U.S.A.
Diane Alps, Cabrillo Marine Aquarium, U.S.A.
Carlos Varela, Florida International University, U.S.A.
Jisu Yeom, Hanyang University, Korea

2014 Oral Presentations

Coming soon

2014 Poster Presentations

Coming Soon

2011 Oral Presentations

Omar Barrera Moreno, Mexico
Masayoshi Sano, Japan

2011 Poster Presentations

Juana Mireya Mendoza Vera, Mexico
Valdylene Tavares Pessoa Fidelis, Brazil